top of page
Search
Writer's pictureKayla Currica

The Beginning


The love for gymnastics all started in 1990 when I was 12 months old and my mother decided to introduce her love for the sport to me at Fit N Fun Gymnastics, a local gym to Maryland ( which is now Dobre Gymnastics). I started competing at 6 years old under USAG ( United States of America Gymnastics).


Nothing ever came natural or easy to me as a gymnast. I had to work exceptionally hard to reach my level and life goals as a gymnast. Over the years as i started advancing in levels I became creative. I started creating my own drills, breaking down skills to where I could work on fine tuning the mechanics and basics of each element, of course with the help and direction of my mother who was also my coach.


As i reached high school age around 2002/2003 I started realizing my whole life has been in the gym. I now wanted to go to dances, friends parties, go to the movies and finally go on a DATE! Yup, I was growing up and wondering what was out side of the gymnastics world. So in my freshmen year of high school I tried doing both. I was not successful, as being a high level gymnast requires dedication, its a full time job! I was so torn as what to do, but what happens next really helped me make my choice and started the journey of Coach Kayla.


The summer of my freshman year 2003 my mother decided to retire. She wanted to be there for my little sister and encourage her ambitions as they were not in the gym world. She too grew up in the gym but hated every second of it. Even though my mother was done, I was not just yet. Well lets be fair... I was ... I just didnt fully know yet. So we looked at other gyms. We went to many! It took me a little to find the gym that best fits me as a gymnast but also the coach that was right for me and my spunky self. I was not the easiest to coach, looking back IDK how my mother did it or my new coaches Farzi and Luis at Style Gymnastics. I was gearing up for my level 10 season, but also for my High-school career. The unknown of both terrified me. I felt like I was being pulled in 2 different directions. As the comp season started so did high school season of home coming, dates, friends parties, it was truly and over load of confusion about what to do. I had to pick a direction. The most terrifying choice at that time for me to make. Do I quit and become " a normal teenager" or do I stay and continue the " Gymnast lifestyle" Thankfully my mother helped me, and how she did this was her retiring. Ultimately even though I loved my coaches and new team mates... it was not the same and I didnt like it. My mom was hard on me all the time. I loved but hated it so much. It was vary much so a love hate relationship in the gym and out of the gym. Having your mother as a coach isnt easy! The coaching follows you EVERYWHERE!!!!! So I quit. Using my mother was a way easier excuse than telling my mother and coaches it was because I wanted to be a normal teenager! (they knew but of course as a teenager you think adults have no idea or understand) But like all coaches you just know when your athlete is done, and all you want is the best for them and to live life. So as emotional as I thought it would be, it wasnt. I had so many comebacks to possible statements trying to get me to stay, but I didnt have to use them. I got " We understand and love you, we will always be here for you not matter what and wish you the best" speech. But I felt so relieved!


After a few months of being in the "real world" living the "normal teenager" life, I realized its not all cracked up as they say! The drama was crazy! The rumors were insane and I wanted out of this world! I didnt like the "new friends" I had made. But I made a choice. Now I had to deal with it. I got to a point where I wanted gymnastics back. I begged my mother to home school me as I hated high-school. And me being home-school would allow me to be a full time gymnast again and hey maybe I could get a scholarship! I started spiraling out of control with out gymnastics. My depression was awful, my anger was intense and my emotions all over. See all those years gymnastics helped me control all this, it was an outlet. Now with out my outlet I was beyond lost. I was falling apart! This is when I really realized I made a bad choice! But I also didnt truly want to work out again! I just missed the gym. Oddly enough my mother was also teetering about going back to coaching... so that summer I walked back in the gym.. our first home. Fit n Fun which through the years became Gymnastics of America which is now Dobre Gymnastics, but this time I wasnt walking in as my mothers gymnast. I was walking in as her apprentice.


I worked under my mother, Boz and Aurelia through High school. During this time I not only did birthday parties again but also pre-team, recreational team and assisting on the management side of camps. By 18 I had my own team ( pictured above) I started going to comps and truly falling in love. Through my first 3 years as a coach I had learn what NOT to do, better ideas, how to handle situations, problem solving and understanding different personalities on a level I had no Idea about. But guess what... I fell head over heals in love with it. I knew this was my destiny. I was changing lives. Through all I went through in life and as a gymnast I am can now relate and can help the youth better them self through gymnastics. I can now teach them all I have learned not only the skills but life lessons! I now have the power to influence young lives for the better and help them over come their trials. Its through my experiences and belief that every athlete can, that I am able to help all my athletes on a different level. Allowing them to grow not only as a person but as a gymnast. Over the years I have become more than a coach. I am their coach, second mother, therapist, nurse and mentor.


On this site you will be able to follow all aspects of my life. Coaching, mother hood, mentor-ship, knowledge and so much more! I cannot wait to share more journeys with you! Dont forget to subscribe and follow all social platforms. I utilize each platform for different content.


Sparkle Bright!

xo

Coach Kayla

13 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page