top of page
Search
Writer's pictureKayla Currica

Saying GOOD BYE!!!


This past weekend we were all saddened by the news. On Friday April 24th around 5PM, I was on a zoom call with a few of my team girls. We were in the groove getting our work out on, and I got a text to "CALL BACK", well i never get that kind of text from my boss, so I told the girls We been on for an hour now I will see you Monday.

When my boss answered the phone with a pause, and I had a gut wrenching feeling... He told me "Kayla (then the longest pause of my life it felt like then went on about some some stuff i dont even remember because of the after shock of the news im about to tell you), we are going to have to close the gym. Well I couldn't bare that news ONE BIT! So i BEGGED him to hold off on telling everyone till 9PM to give me chance to rally my troops of investors and bankers and see what I could do to save Dobre (take dobre over and change the name). We met up for 3 hours in a parking lot. A lot of emotions, yes mainly me, started showing, I was so hurt and upset. We came to the conclusion its not the right time and I just have to accept the Legacy Of Dobre was over. Which for me was hard, vary hard as i grew up knowing the owners like family, and their children and extension of my family. They weren't just friends they were family. I was raised under that ownership, I found the love for coaching between those walls. We will always remain family. But the big question is ... what now???


So what now?

Single mom of 4 on an income of a Team Coach, well honestly thats not going to get far alone for buying some equipment off Dobre and hoping to open a program. So what now? Me and a team of parents are looking into all options. I have the help of a dear friend who has a cheer gym and we are putting our heads together as well. As of right now, we are doing what we can. Weekly zooms 3x week with team, offering lessons via zoom, still doing choreography via video and zoom, and soon will be offering classes to the public with the help from my dear friends at MOCO Twisters as we combine forces to provide classes for the community during these times.


Only time can tell where things will go, but right now its a day at a time. Lots of praying for gymnastics community, many are struggling. So support your local gyms so our athletes have a home to go to when this is all over. In the mean time, I am keeping an eye on the market and whats going on in the Gymnastics industry and Sports industry. As we get closer to re opening gyms across Maryland we will come together at the round table again and lay out options and get plans in stone for # TeamCoachKayla to ensure we have a home and are able to power through the next season. When ever that maybe.


Please stay home, please stay healthy and please support your local sport associations, with out your love and support, it will be hard for us in the sports community to still be standing for your children and generations to come.


-xoxo

Coach Kayla

20 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page